Third Circular of SEWM'18 sent

on Monday, March 12, 2018

Third Circular

2018 Conference on Strong and Electroweak Matter

Barcelona, June 25-29

Dear Colleague

This is the third announcement of the XIII edition Conference on Strong and Electroweak Matter 2018, to be held from 25 to 29 June 2018 in Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain.

The focus of the conference is the theory of the Standard Model and beyond at finite temperature and density and in and out of equilibrium, including applications to cosmology, astrophysics and relativistic heavy-ion collision experiments. Among the topics to be discussed are: • QCD in extreme conditions and dense nuclear matter • Baryogenesis and leptogenesis • Heavy-ion collisions and the Quark-Gluon Plasma • Quantum fields in and out equilibrium and thermalisation • Electroweak phase transition beyond the Standard Model • Early Universe physics and sources for gravitational waves • Compact stars • Quantum field dynamics and inflation

Confirmed invited speakers are

• Barry Barish (Caltech) • Mark Alford (Washington U, St. Louis, USA) • Nils Andersson (Southampton) • Paolo Bedaque (U. of Maryland) • Szabolcs Borsanyi (U. Wuppertal) • Aleksey Cherman (Washington U., Seattle) • Miguel Angel Escobedo (U. Jyvaskyla) • Jacopo Ghiglieri (CERN) • Jan Fiete Grosse-Oetringhaus (CERN) • Stephan Huber (Sussex) • Maciej Lewenstein (IFCO, Barcelona) • Harvey Meyer (U. Mainz) • David Mateos (ICC-UB, Barcelona) • Paul Romatschke (U. of Colorado) • Luciano Rezzolla (ITP, Frankfurt) • Anders Tranberg (Stavanger) • Konrad Tywoniuk (CERN) • Alfredo Urbano (CERN)

The conference will be held on CosmoCaixa, the science museum of Barcelona. Early Registration finishes on 23rd of March (please visit

You can still submit your abstract, decisions will be taken in late May/early June for the final approval of the whole program.

Please share this announcement with any colleagues you think might be interested.

We hope to see you in Barcelona.


The local organising committee

• Cristina Manuel (IEEC-CSIC), Chairperson • Jose Ramon Espinosa (ICREA/IFAE) • Joan Soto (UB- ICCUB) • Laura Tolos (IEEC-CSIC) • Mariano Quirós (IFAE) • Jorge Casalderrey-Solana (UB- ICCUB)

The organisers of the conference can be reached at